Hi Alex,

After reading your blog about Belgium, I’m kind of curious about the languages of Belgium. Why don’t they speak Belgian? How can the people of each area communicate if they speak different languages? Most of all, your major is economics, how is traveling in Europe going to help you succeed in this major? It would be interesting to read a blog about France. Thank you Hung Nguyen

I’m not sure about Europe, but I would like to visit Korea and meet Taeyang. I’m interested in eating and sleeping and getting fat and being lazy, and I also enjoy fangirling and watching K-dramas. I don’t know much about Belgium, but I know they have amazing chocolate. I also heard that people speak 3 languages there. Please tell us more about the food we’re very interested in that. Sincerely Christine Huynh

I’m Annie, from Ms. Talent’s Language Arts class. I’m 13 years old, and I really enjoyed your post about Belgium, especially the food part. Living in Belgium seems pretty interesting with all the things you see everyday. Europe is a really fun continent to study and learn from. I hope I learn more from your blog for the next 10 weeks!

I’ve heard about Belgium before and learned a lot about it last year. It’s very interesting. But there is still more to learn! I wonder how long it took to get there? Is Belgium a rich country? Why is Belgium always famous for its desserts? Are they paying you to study in Belgium? What is the most common language that they speak in Belgium? After reading your blog about Belgium I did find out some new things. They have both a prime minister and a king of Belgium. From Illana Morales

This entry was written by ltalent2 and published on October 16, 2013 at 4:14 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Hi Alex,

  1. Hello there!
    Hung,
    First of all, thank you for all of the great questions! To start off, there is no “Belgian” language. Since the land where Belgium is today was occupied by other countries in the past, its people took on those languages. Where Belgium is today was once ruled by France, so the people in the area spoke French, but was then taken by the Netherlands, so they began to speak Dutch as well. Flemish is the closest thing to a “Belgian” language, although it is a dialect of Dutch, rather than its own language. It’s comparable to the way people in the South say things differently than people in the North in the US. People in the south say things like “y’all”, whereas in the North we don’t. Communication between the two parts of Belgium is actually a big issue. Most prefer to use English if they have to communicate (nearly everyone here speaks at least a little bit), because both are sides are usually too stubborn to learn the other language. English is seen as a common ground in the language sense. As for this trip applying to my major, it is very beneficial to see how economies are in different parts of the world. A few places I have been so far are very wealthy, and therefore look very nice, while there are other places that very clearly have less wealth. I guess the biggest gain out of this experience is turning something I’m studying into a real-world topic on a global perspective, rather than something I read in textbooks focused on the US economy. I visit France next week, so will be sure to tell you all about it!

    Annie,
    I’m glad you enjoyed the part about food! That’s one of my favorite topics, so I will be doing a post all about it in the next few weeks. Hopefully I’ll be able to bring back a few of the delicious treats I write about for all of you to try.

    Illana,
    It’s great to hear that you have background knowledge on Belgium! To be honest, I didn’t know a whole lot before arriving here. Luckily I am taking a class devoted to Belgium, its history, and other various attributes. The flight from Chicago to Brussels was eight hours long, but the whole trip to get here took 18 hours! It was a very tiring day, and not something I’m looking forward to for my return home. Overall, Belgium is a relatively rich country. As I’ve said the north and south of Belgium are quite separated, and the north is far wealthier than the south. I honestly can’t tell you why Belgium is so famous for desserts! I think it’s more a coincidence than anything, however I’ll be sure to do some research and let you know when I do my blog post about food! Unfortunately I do not get paid to study here, in fact I am paying to be here. I wish that were the case though. That would make this fantastic experience even better (if that’s possible!). There isn’t really a most common language since Belgium has more than one national language. Where I am in Brussels I typically hear French on a day to day basis. However, that is because Brussels is predominately Francophone. If I were to visit northern Belgium I would hear very little French, if any. I’m glad you’ve learned something new! That’s my goal!

    Very intuitive questions from everyone! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

